When January 1st clocks in, the year just doesn’t begin. But also new laws are officially enforced. Our staff decided to highlight a handful of new laws that will begin in 2018.

Law Update #1

Washington State will be joining 6 other states, which will now require employers to pay sick leave.

Law Update #2

Employers in Nevada are now required to offer up to 160 hours of leave per 12-month period to workers who have been — or whose family members have been — victims of domestic violence.

Law Update #3

New York adopted a resolution which will give 12 weeks of paid family leave benefits.

MAJOR Update #1

18 states are bumping up their minimum wage. Here is a chart created by NPR-

NPR report- Minimum wage chart
NPR report- Minimum wage chart

Law Update #4

Tennessee is laxing their rules when it comes to free speech to speakers on higher education campuses.

Law Update #5

Iowa and West Virginia both adopted measures that require voters to show an accepted form of ID. However, a lot of the enforcement doesn’t kick-off until 2019.

Practice Update #1

Transgender and Intersex people are allowed to change the designation on their birth certificates, per the approval of a medical professional. Whereas California will no longer require applicants to answer the gender question

Law Update #6

South Carolina will prohibit the purchase of exotic animals unless you are a Zoo.

Love Update #1

Illinois will honor the Former President Obama on his birthday on August 4th, as a “commemorative date”. Sorry, no days off from school and work.

Law Update #7

Barbers are liberated. They can now perform house calls. Previously barbers could only perform house calls if the client is sick or is unable to come to his/her shop.They must have a valid barber certificate.

Law Update #8

Pennsylvania will allow for residents to purchase “consumer” fireworks — which includes novelties like “ground and hand-held sparkling devices,” “toy caps” and “display fireworks” — without a permit. Also, Pennsylvanians will only be allowed to set off fireworks on private property. Now safetly aspects have been taken into consideration such as they cannot use them in cars, shoot them into cars, at a building or another person or else it will result a $100 fine!

Law Update #10

In California people will have to purchase ammunition through a licensed vendor. Even those ordering online will have to have it shipped to an appropriate vendor and then pick up their purchases in person. Also, all schools will prohibit carrying firearms on school grounds.

Law Update #11

In California people will have to purchase ammunition through a licensed vendor. Even those ordering online will have to have it shipped to an appropriate vendor and then pick up their purchases in person. Also, all schools will prohibit carrying firearms on school grounds.

Law Update #12

Convicted of a hate crime in California? Say goodbye to owning a firearm for a minimum of 10 years!

Law Update #13

In Illinois, a judge will allowed to decide who gets to take home the family pet in the event of divorce. Alaska joins Illinois by adopting a similar law.

Law Update #14

In Colorado, officials were required to report teens who were sharing sexually explicit photos. Regardless even if it were to be consensual. Now, officials have additional ways to report certain students caught such as being able to recommend charges to the district attorney’s office.

Law Update #15

Those who are recording a violent crime in California will now possible face additional consequences for recording a violent crime.

Law Update #16

Arkansas will be expanding their current policy of no income tax from just active members to also include military retirement as well.

Law Update #17

In Tennessee, if you get caught with a  handheld cell phone in a school zone. You will be charged with a class C misdemeanor.


Add a Commment

%d bloggers like this: